Skip to content

Just adopted a 1.5 year old female and need some experienced advice

Hi everyone, my life long dream finally came true and I adopted a sweet 1.5 year old female bull terrier. I am still learning on how to take the best care for her but I have a few concerns maybe some of you with experience can help.

About her: I've had her for a 3 days now but from the moment she came in my home I was able to hug her and put my face close to hers. I can touch anywhere on her body and she doesn't flinch. I can grab her food while she eats with no problem. She really is a true sweetheart in the home so far who seems to just want to cuddle, be coddled and be around someone. She has only barked 3 times inside the home and that is the first night when she was startled waking up in an unfamiliar place, the other 2 times was from hearing noises from the windows. She slept in bed with me and woke up at 5:30am laying on her back for belly rubs. She may have been abused in the past as I was told she was once spanked and cowled/cried. So I make sure to be as gentle and non aggressive as possible. She was panting and heavily drooling for the first day and a half. She didn't sleep much the first night but caught up on sleep the last couple days.

Concerns/questions: