Skip to content

Something's fishy...

Hey, I'm Hannah!
I have a Bull Terrier named Darla. She is overall heathy and she is a year and 5 months.
I'm very new to this breed, I usually have Goldens. So this is why I'm joining this website to keep up with her and what to do if something comes up, as for that...there is something I've noticed about her. Her (sometimes) fishy smell. I googled it, of course, and she doesn't rub herself on the carpet and her stools are normal. We tried to relieve her glands but no luck...they didn't seem swollen...I want to avoid the vet if I can. But being a pregnant woman I CAN NOT stand the smell. It's only every once an awhile...but when it's there it's FOUL. Could it be something else? Such as food? Does this happen often with these dogs or all dogs? Any advise as to get rid of the fishy smell?! Please help...lol

Comments

• Also, she literally farts like a human....I don't know if that's a normal thing...I imagine so. But they are also very raunchy.
  • All dogs fart

As for the fish smell she could have a bladder infection etc and that might require a trip to the vet

Why do you want to avoid the vet ?
  • I know all dogs fart. It was meant to be a funny comment more than anything. She is just one of a kind when it comes to her farts. If I can help her I don't need a vet. But if it's a bladder infection obviously can't help that.
  • philsergeantphilsergeant Palm City, Florida, USA
    edited October 2016
    I am proud to say I own the only two Bullies in the world that don't fart.  (I am sure they do, but it is very infrequent and hardly noticeable)... I think it comes down to the diet mostly.
    Regarding swollen anal sack.
    It is most prevalent in females, often worsened by a no-so-good spaying (well what's a good spaying?)...