Skip to content

Best grain free food currently available???

I've been feeding my pup blue buffalo wilderness puppy chicken recipe for the last few months and it seems every time I tell someone what she eats they keep talking about issues people have had and recalls etc.

So my question is what is the best grain free food out there for a 4 month old pup ( I feed her kibble with some wet can food mixed in)?

Thanks,

Comments

• edited March 2016
    Sadly there's just no one answer to this question. Dogs have different needs and it's impossible to meet them all with just one recipe and call it "THE BEST GRAIN FREE DOG FOOD" - although I think many manufacturers like to label their product as such. :)

For a healthy dog with no limitations (yeast overgrowth, kidney problems etc.) that require limited ingredient diets there's a number of different good quality kibble brands on the market. Most of them also produce canned food. I am no expert in terms of canned food, because I am using fresh meats, fish, innards, eggs and veggies instead to mix with the kibble I feed.
    There are also freeze dried fresh dog foods available, which I would feed rather than canned either, if I would want to switch from fresh meats. Many of them are really good.

The following brands offer grain-free varieties and are worth taking a closer look at, because they are all good quality: Orjien, Merrick, Victor, Canidae, Performatrin, Dr. Tim's Kinesis.

They all offer grain-free, puppy and/ or "all stages" formulas.
    The good brands are all located in the upper price range though. There are some less expensive, yet still good brands/ products around. In terms of kibble I've learned this rule of thumb: The cheaper the product, the less meat content. It's not a general rule for EVERY brand. But there's a pattern showing when comparing products. When it gets really cheap you will also encounter a lot of fillers, by-products and all the things you don't want your dog to eat.