Skip to content

Bully not gaining weight

Hello everybody,

my Chunk is a standard EBT, he is now 14 months old and he is intact. I have him on a raw diet, feeding by the BARF model. Chunk hasn't gained any weight in 7 months. He does not have a good appetite and I struggle with that, he often refuses to eat and the breeder has advised it is his stubbornness that I will get rid of by being strict and taking his dish aways when he refuses to eat and he will learn that he can not be picky and eat what and when he is given. Our trainer says it is because he is intact. I have been worried for a while and I have been expressing my concern to our vet for the last 4 months, but she keeps saying he looks healthy and that I should be happy he is not overweight. Today he woke me up throwing up, and he had diarrhea and blood leaking from his anus (there was so much blood, it was leaking down his testicles and legs, it was awfull). We visited the vet, he got two injections to stop throwing up and diarrhea. Again I told the vet that I am worried about his weight and she said she doesn't see it as a problem. I have an appointment on Wednesday for another opinion, but i was hoping to hear from you guys and your personal experiences. Is it normal for a bully not to gain any weight from 6 to 14 months?
The leaking blood has stopped, he was very lively all the time, and he is no longer puking or pooping and we have a check-up for that tomorrow with the same vet, on Wednesday we are visiting another one for the second opinion and I will insist on blood work and RTG of the intestines.

Has anyone been in a similar situation? Thank you in advance! I am really desperate by now and I hope we resolve this.

Comments

• BulliesofNCBulliesofNC Richlands, NC