Skip to content

Potty Training.

So I have had my 8 week old ebt Luna for about a week now and need some advice on potty training. This is my first time doing this so just wanna make sure I am doing it correctly. I live in an apartment however I have decent size patio that I am using as her potty area. It is fully cement and has no grass. I make sure to take her out right after she wakes up, shortly after eating or drinking water. Since her second night home she has slept 6 hours straight in her crate before waking up to go potty, and honestly I am usually the one waking up her up she never cries to be let out. She has never had an accident in her crate. She also has a playpen attached to her crate which is where I keep her if I can't watch her like a hawk (ie. eating, cooking, cleaning, getting work done). If she is in there I do my best to take her out but sometimes I'm too late and she has already peed, so I put pee pads down just in case. She has now learned to go on them although she sometimes misses and has accident in her playpen. The main issue is when I let her free in the house. I make sure that I take her outside to pee before I let her loose, but she still seems to have accidents. During the day she seems to pee almost every 30 mins or less. Am I confusing her because of the pee pads in the playpen? I am a college student so there are times that she will be home alone for a couple hours so until she can hold I have no other choice. Also I am working on leash training with her right out front of my apartment. There is a patch of grass there and she will almost immediately go potty. Should I change the pee pads to the artificial grass one & also invest in artificial grass for the patio to make in easier for her ? Also should I try to let her cry and let me know when she has to go instead of taking her out myself? I have carpet so I wanna try to avoid accidents are much as possible since its harder to clean. Are the accidents just normal since she is still