Skip to content

Age for the drop :)

When I took Arrow in today or a skin consult, the vet looked him over as it was a new vet.
Arrow is 33lbs, 5 mths old tomorrow, the vet says he has 1 testicle in place and 1 in his belly, she was not concerned at the moment  and thinks he is still young and it will drop.
When should i be expecting it to drop?
also
My vet said that his skin issues will be helped by neutering him when he is ready to be as hormones could trigger his skin issues. When would people suggest neutering as Ive only had bitches before and the net seems to vary wildly from 5mths to 18 mths, my vet suggested 6 but that seems pretty young to me for what i would consider a big op.

Comments

• edited July 2016
    I am not a doctor. So, the following is only a non-expert's point of view.

Although possible, in my experience, skin issues in Bull Terriers are much more often related to problems originating in a weak immune system and guts - and often more likely triggered by malnutrition, allergens in the diet, environment, microorganisms and such, than they are hormone related.
    This is why it is SO important - just as Steve keeps repeating like a prayer, because it is so true - to support and strengthen the immune system. A strong immune system will be able to deal with A LOT of adverse environmental influences and imbalanced situations within the body. It can't work miracles, but an intact and strong immune system is indeed a capable fighter.

There's such a thing as puppy acne that CAN be hormone related. But that usually balances as soon as the puppy matures and the hormone situation settles.
    Hormone related skin issues usually show a little different effects on the skin than allergies, such as baldness, for example.
    As we have so many different dogs with skin issues in this forum, I currently don't really remember, if I have ever seen any photos of the skin issues your dog is suffering from - if it's baldness, bumps, blisters ...