Skip to content

is this normal

hi
as ive said before i am new to ebt's and want to ask if the following are "normal" puppy behaviour

1 he does not want to walk. when we go outside he doesnt like walking on the road/pavement. he sometimes seems ok on gravel but hardly ever wals
2 he sleeps alot still, is this because of the heat (its about 95f all year)
3 he barks alot at people outside the gate and cars and noises. i would class it as a submissive bark (tail between the legs)
4 im trying to clicker train, he seems to know what sit and come means but once training stops he wont do or even look at me
5 most people ive read says their ebt is affectionate. I play with mine, feed him,, i work from home so im with him nearly all day. yet other than when playing he will sit alone, maybe 10 feet etc, in same room but not what i would say on my lap or cuddles like my boxer would at that age.44
6 he seems happy enough, vet says he is ok if a little chubby, he plays, his tail wags when we play, he doesnt cry, he eats, toilets regualr and solid etc

are these normal?

he is booked in for a 121 set of training sessions starting tuesday with the best trainer on the island so ill keep utd on progress but as a new ebt owner i wanted to see if these were normal and any suggestions?

Comments

• edited April 2016
    You didn't mention your pup's age or did I miss it?
    But so far, at a glance ALL of this sounds pretty normal for an English Bull Terrier puppy.

The affection will come. Just give it some time.
    Many pups are anxious about leaving their territory. That's why they often do not like long walks away from their home when very young. Sometimes it helps to carry them a bit and walk away from the house. When set down then, many walk like a charm. But don't make the walks too long anyway, if the pup is very young.
    In addition, EBT's need entertainment and fun. Even when older they may refuse walking "boring" routes. :) Just a thing for you to keep in mind.