Skip to content

Student diversity day....

edited November 2013 in General
Ok bullie family members Eli has a student diversity day where I go in and share info on our family, culture, traditions ect. So I first thought of of course Ems since most know I'm an EMT and I thought of taking the rescue truck up and showing the kids the lights and sirens and letting them listen to their hearbeat with my scope, teach them when and when not to call 911......fun for a pre schooler right......but then I thought wait a minute I  could take this oppertunity to teach them about Bull Terriers and educate them on this wonderful Breed. But how do I do this and not cause contraversy?? His teacher gave the green light to beable to take Cleo in his class and let th err kids see her and I thought of making puppy chow chex mix for a snack!!! Need ideas on how to not call out the ignorant parents who think that pit bulls ( yup what the uneducated tbink they are) are the devil. Any ideas anyone?????????
Your actions speak so loudly I cannot hear your words.

Comments

• What about maybe like a bandana or tutu to make her ' look' friendlier to others? It helps with Stoeger and kids who are scared of dogs? Just an idea. She's white isn't she? What about that picture that's going around with the dog ebt and the kid who is coloring on it? Maybe you could 'color' on her while demonstrating something? It could show how friendly and how funny she can be?
  • I do have a bandana that says hi my name is... from the Olympics last yr........ although she is very calm and friendly this might stress her a little because of the volume of kids and I don't want any of them close enough to maul her as some kidscan be evil:( I don't want any issues at all or I've defeted my purpose. And what kinds of things should I or should I not bring up to educate......if I bring up history they were used as bull baitors that's awsome to tell a preschooler uggg.....ya:/